The Centre for Strategic Centrism

Icon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Happy Meal Just Got Happier

I’m a big enough man to admit when I’m wrong. Evidently China is now being struck by an economic slowdown as a result of Warren Kinsella’s joke about the cost of food at an Ottawa eatery and now Canada will suffer as a result. Alice Wong was right! What else can we take from the news that McDonald’s is slashing the prices of its sandwiches in China by up to 30 per cent? Way to go, Warren!

And In Other News…

Starbucks is taking a run at the golden arches by introducing a breakfast value meal. For only $3.95, Starbucks customers will have the option of a tall latte with oatmeal or coffee cake, or a tall coffee with a breakfast sandwich. I’ve tried the Starbucks sandwiches and they’re pretty good. But I’d rather eat a Sausage and Egg McMuffin than any breakfast sandwich I’ve ever tried (with the exception of a Western Omelette Bagel that McDonalds has discontinued to the great delight of every cardiologist in the world).

As someone with a great affinity for both McDonalds and Starbucks, it’s not easy for me to see the two compete. While my parents have been happily married for more than thirty years, but I imagine that this is how children of divorce feel.

Filed under: Apolitical

Leave a comment